CAER Organization

CAER logo


The CAER organization is composed of members from government agencies, industry, and volunteer groups. Leadership is provided by elected officers and an Executive Committee.

Elected Officers

PresidentTom Karnauskas – RACES2021
Vice President / SecretaryIris Johnson – Red Cross2020
TreasurerSandee Hardy-Hagen – CERT2021

Executive Committee

Sheriff Lon ThieleSteele County Sheriffs Department2020
Mike JohnsonSteele Co. Emergency Management


County and Municipal Government

Steele CountyCity of Blooming Prairie
City of EllendaleCity of Medford
City of Owatonna

Government Agencies

Blooming Prairie Fire & AmbulanceEllendale Fire & Ambulance
Medford Fire DepartmentMinnesota Public Safety
Owatonna Fire DepartmentOwatonna Police Department
Owatonna Public SchoolsPearl Street 911 Center
Steele County Emergency ManagementSteele County Public Health
Steele County Sheriff’s DepartmentUSAF Civil Air Patrol 

Public and Volunteer Organizations

American Red Cross – SE MNSteele County RACES/ARES
PEACE TaskforceSteele County Safety Council
Steele County SKYWARN Steele County CERT

Commerce and Industry

Anertec Gandy Co.Arkema
Blooming Prairie TimesCentral Coop 
Ellendale EaglesFederated Insurance
General EquipmentGold Cross Ambulance
ImpaxLakeside Food
Michaelson Funeral HomeOwatonna Hospital
Owatonna People’s PressOwatonna Public Utilities
SPX/OTC Service SolutionsTruth Hardware

Updated 17-Feb-2020